Jump to Navigation

EIPSA Election Guidelines


Ethiopian International Professional Support for Abay (EIPSA) is an organization established by Ethiopian professionals residing in various counties in order to support efficient and timely implementation of the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD). It was launched in 22, June 2013 with the mission of enhancing and expanding knowledge on water and protecting Ethiopia`s national interests on transboundary watercourses in accordance with internationally accepted principles. Providing expertise and  professional support through cooperation with the National Committee for the Coordination of Public Participation on the Construction of the Grand Renaissance Dam,  assisting national initiative to protect Ethiopia`s interest on the international stage, establishing a database on Nile related information and research based knowledge are some of the main objectives of EIPSA.  EIPSA’s mission and day to day operations are run by 9 elected professionals. These are the Director, General Secretary and 7 section heads. The section heads are Engineering & Hydraulic, Law & International Affairs, Economics, Environmental & Agricultural, Water and Trans-boundary River Management, Public Relation & Communication, and IT and Documentation Section Heads. These elected members are the executive members of the organization responsible for the current and future plans.  According to EIPSA’s constitution, the current Executive Committee members are to be replaced by a new members by election.

Hence this document presents procedures and processes of the election of the new members of Executive Committee and streamline future elections.

Constitutional Provisions

Article 10 of EIPSA’s Establishment Document states that the directorate, secretary and unit heads shall be elected every 6 months.  The unit heads are eight namely, Finance, Engineering and Hydraulic Structures, Agriculture and Environment, Law and International affairs, Public relation and communication, Information Technology, Economics, and Transboundary Water management.

On the other hand, Article 13 of EIPSA’s Constitution stipulates the following:

[(a) At the first annual general meeting of the members of the CIO, 50% of the elected charity trustees shall retire from office;] The remaining 50% of the trustees will retire in the next election cycle to be held in 6 months after the first annual general meeting.

(b) At every [subsequent] annual general meeting of the members of the CIO, one-third of the elected charity trustees shall retire from office. If the number of elected charity trustees is not three or a multiple of three, then the number nearest to one-third shall retire from office, but if there is only one charity trustee, he or she shall retire;

(c) The charity trustees to retire by rotation shall be those who have been longest in office since their last appointment or reappointment. If any trustees were last appointed or reappointed on the same day those to retire shall (unless they otherwise agree among themselves) be determined by lot;

 (d) The vacancies so arising may be filled by the decision of the members at the annual general meeting; any vacancies not filled at the annual general meeting may be filled as provided in sub-clause (e) of this clause;

(e) The members or the charity trustees may at any time decide to appoint a new charity trustee, whether in place of a charity trustee who has retired or been removed in accordance with clause [15] (Retirement and removal of charity trustees), or as an additional charity trustee, provided that the limit specified in clause [12(3)] on the number of charity trustees would not as a result be exceeded;

(f) A person so appointed by the members of the CIO shall retire in accordance with the provisions of sub-clauses (b) and (c) of this clause. A person so appointed by the charity trustees shall retire at the conclusion of the annual general meeting next following the date of his appointment, and shall not be counted for the purpose of determining which of the charity trustees is to retire by rotation at that meeting.”

(g) Current elected charity trustees assign electoral committee members in order to coordinate and conduct free and election while identifying capable and relevant professional to advance EIPSA’s mission and objectives.

Election Procedure

All members of EIPSA, not associate members, have the right to vote.  Election can be done through an electronic poll as provided by Article 11 Number 6. The electronic election will be held after an annual general meeting.  To this end, Article 11 of the Constitution states that “There must be an annual general meeting (AGM) of the members of the CIO. The first AGM must be held within 18 months of the registration of the CIO, and subsequent AGMs must be held at intervals of not more than 15 months. The AGM must receive the annual statement of accounts (duly audited or examined where applicable) and the trustees’ annual report, and must elect trustees as required under clause [13].

Based on Article 11 number 5 of the Constitution, the quorum for general meetings shall be the greater of [5]% or [three] members.

The provision in the Constitution that lays the ground for electronic poll states

”A poll on any other matter shall be taken, and the result of the poll shall be announced, in such manner as the chair of the meeting shall decide, provided that the poll must be taken, and the result of the poll announced, within 30 days of the demand for the poll. A poll may be taken:

(i) at the meeting at which it was demanded; or

(ii) at some other time and place specified by the chair; or

(iii) through the use of electronic communication venue provided by the election committee.

Committee members up for election

During 2014 election cycle 5 executive committee members are up for election. These are:

  1. Environment and Agriculture section
  2. Law and International Affairs
  3. Public relation and communication
  4. Finance
  5. Member at large

Election Date

The first cycle election will be held on December 1 through 8, 2014. Nomination for committee members will be open Starting from November 17, 2014 and will be closed on November 24, 2014.  For each executive committee member position three elect-EC members will be presented.  According to the constitution of our organization self-nomination is accepted.

Nominee’s Bio

Nominators are required to provide the following information about the nominees/Elect-EC members are:

  1. Full Name
  2. Profession or qualification
  3. Email address
  4. Educational level

Please provide the above information to EIPSA’s email: Election@eipsa1.com

Electoral Committee

  1. Menberu Meles                       Committee chair
  2. Girma Sahlu                            Committee member
  3. Aster Asgedom                       Committee member





Main menu 2

Article | by Dr. Radut